ID: 210

Managing Users, Roles & Permissions

Guide for managing users within Zoom Administration Console.

Any user who wants access to Zoom must have a named user inside of Zoom. This includes any users interested in accessing lightboxes. In addition to creating users to create users in Zoom, users can also be managed inside of LDAP or Active Directory. The instructions below describe how to add or edit users if users are managed in Zoom.

Managing Users

Add Users

  1. In the Web Administration Console under User Accounts in the sidebar, click clip_manage accounts_0000Manage accounts.
  2. Clickclip_add user_0000 Add User.
  3. Set the following items:
    Field Example Username jsmith Last Name Smith First Name John Password <password> Confirm Password <password> Project defproj Email jsmith@example.com
  4. Click Save.

Edit Users

  1. In the  Web Administration Console under User Accounts in the sidebar, click clip_manage accounts_0000Manage accounts.
  2. Select a user in the list.
  3. Click clip_Edit user_0000 Edit User.

Delete Users

  1. In the  Web Administration Console  under User Accounts in the sidebar, click clip_manage accounts_0000Manage accounts.
  2. Select a user in the list.
  3. Click clip_Delete user_0000 Delete User(s)

Role Management

A role is a group of users that inherit a specific permission. A role’s permissions can pertain to all projects or a specific project. Each role has a permission that is assigned to it. Users are mapped to both roles and to projects. The difference between projects and roles is which role a user is a member of determines their permissions while a project determines whether they have access to those files.

Permissions

A role can have the following permissions:

Role Name Description
None Has no access to any resource.
Distribute Can read only items that are marked as published
Review Can read only items that are marked as published and items that are marked for review. For example: Items in a Lightbox.
Read Has read-only access to assets. They cannot create new revisions of a file, add items to Zoom, or delete items.
Contribute User can create new revisions of a file, import new files. Users with Contribute permission cannot delete files.
Edit Can create new revisions of a file, import new files. Users with Contribute permission can delete their own files.
Edit_All Can create new revisions of a file and import new files. Users with Contribute permission can delete files.
Administer Can create new revisions of a file, import new files, and administer projects in Zoom.

Set Permissions for Role

  1. In the  Web Administration Console  under Role Management in the sidebar, clickclip_Manage Roles_0000 Manage Roles.
  2. Under the Permission column for the specific role, click to view drop-down.
    Roles section of the Web Administration Console.
    Roles section of the Web Administration Console.

  3. Select the appropriate permission.
  4. Click clip_Save All_0000 Save All.

Set Project for Role

Permissions can be set to a specific project. That way a user only has those permissions for that specific project. By default, however, roles are set to *, meaning that these permissions will apply to all projects.

  1. In the  Web Administration Console  under Role Management in the sidebar, clickclip_Manage Roles_0000 Manage Roles.
  2. Under the Project column for the specific role, click to view drop-down to select the project, or type *.
  3. Click clip_Save All_0000 Save All.

Map Users to Role

  1. In the  Web Administration Console under User Accounts in the sidebar, click clip_Map user to role_0000 Map User to Role.
  2. Under Role Name, select the role you would like to map users to.
  3. In the All Users column, select the users you would like to add.
    Map Users to Role
    Selecting a role to map users to.

  4. Click Add >>
  5. Click Save

Add Role

  1. In the  Web Administration Console under Role Management in the sidebar, click clip_Manage Roles_0000 Manage Roles.
  2. Click   clip_Add Role_0000 Add Role.
  3. Under Name of the Role, enter the name you would like to set for the name.
  4. Under the Project column for the specific role, click to view drop-down to select the project, or type *.
  5. Under the Project column for the specific role, click to view drop-down to select the project, or type *.
  6. Click clip_Save All_0000 Save All.

Delete Role

  1. In the  Web Administration Console under Role Management in the sidebar, click clip_Manage Roles_0000 Manage Roles.
  2. Select the role you would like to delete.
  3. Click clip_Delete Role  Delete Role.

Suggested Articles

Managing Projects
Step-by-step instructions on how to use Projects in Web Management Console