ID: 6954

How to move a Working Copy to another location

Zoom brings assets from the Zoom repository to a location on the local machine from where they can be used or edited. This location is called the Working Copy location. The working copy can be created in any locally available folder, at the time of checkout. Once an asset or set of assets has been checked-out in a particular working copy directory, Zoom tracks the assets within that folder with the Zoom repository.

If a file abc.psd from the Zoom repository project some-project, at the path /some-project/test/, is checked-out in the local machine folder Documents, then,

  • The file can be viewed or edited on the local machine at Documents/some-project/test/abc.psd.
  • The Working Copy directory will be Documents/some-project.
  • Other assets from the project some-project can also be checked out in this Working Copy location Documents/some-project.
  • Changes to the files in this Working Copy can be easily synced with the Zoom repository.
The list of Working Copies existing locally can be viewed in the Z -> Settings app, in the Existing Working Copies section. A Working Copy location can be opened in Mac Finder or Windows Explorer by right-clicking on its listed path and selecting the “Open Containing Folder” action.

The Working Copy directory should not be moved directly on the file-system alone. The Zoom client needs to be informed of this move so that it can maintain the association of the working copy with the Zoom repository. This is needed to allow Zoom to continue syncing changes between the Working Copy and the Zoom repository.

The subsequent sections describe different ways to move a Working Copy’s location.

For Auto-Checkout Working Copies on a Windows server, skip to the special section below.

  1. Open the folder in Finder which contains the Working Copy location.
    For the example above, open the folder Documents in Finder.
  2. Right-click on the Working Copy folder and select the Services > Evolphin Zoom menu.
    • Alternatively, select the Working Copy folder and from the Tasks button drop-down, select the Services > Evolphin Zoom menu.
  3. Choose the Relocate action from the Evolphin Zoom menu.
  4. A pop-up app will be launched with a dialog to specify the new location of the Working Copy.
  5. Fill in the new location and click OK.
  6. The app will move the Working Copy folder to the new location, and also keep it linked with the Zoom repository.
  1. Open the folder in Windows Explorer/Mac Finder/Linux file manager which contains the Working Copy location.
    For the example above, open the folder Documents in Explorer.
  2. Cut the Working Copy folder and paste it in the new location.
    • Alternatively, advanced users may use a terminal or command-prompt command to move the Working Copy folder to a new location.
  3. Open a command-prompt or terminal.
    • On Windows: press keys Win+R and type cmd in the Run prompt, and press ↵.
    • On Mac: press keys ⌘+Space and type Terminal in the Search prompt, and open the Terminal app.
    • On Linux: open the Terminal.
  4. Run the zm rebase command.
    For the example above, if the new location is to be Desktop, then:

    1. The folder some-project should have been moved from Downloads to Desktop in step 2 above.
    2. Type the following and press ↵:
      zm rebase Downloads/some-project Desktop/
  5. The rebase command will keep the moved Working Copy folder linked with the Zoom repository.

Working Copies like the Auto-Checkout Working Copy, that are maintained by a Zoom service, cannot be moved as easily as those of normal users. This is because the services are typically run by a Windows SYSTEM user, such as “Local Service”, not a normal user with which you can login to the machine. Therefore, if such a Working Copy is moved, the Zoom repository association maintained for it must be updated for the SYSTEM user, not the logged in user.

  1. Disable the Working Copy monitoring.
    • For Auto-Checkout Working Copy, disable Auto-Checkout Config > Enable Auto-Check-Out in the Web Admin > Server Control Panel
  2. Stop the Zoom service.
  3. Open a Windows command prompt
    • press keys Win+R and type cmd in the Run prompt, and press enter.
  4. Change the directory, using the cd command in the command-prompt, to the logged-in user’s home directory.
    Typically, for a username “jane”, the home directory is C:\Users\jane.

    Type the following and press ↵:
    cd C:\Users\jane

  5. Rename the user’s .zm directory to something else.

    Type the following and press ↵:
    ren .zm bak.zm

  6. Link the SYSTEM user’s .zm to that of the logged-in user.
    On Windows 7+ and Windows Server 2008+, the SYSTEM user’s home directory is inside the “Windows” install path Windows\System32\config\systemprofile

    Type the following and press ↵:
    mklink /D .zm C:\Windows\System32\config\systemprofile\.zm

  7. Perform all the steps in the section above
  8. Delete the .zm link created in the previous step using Windows Explorer.
    Do NOT delete using the command-prompt or powershell, as that will delete the linked SYSTEM user’s .zm directory also.
    1. Open the current directory in Windows Explorer by typing the command: explorer .
    2. Delete the .zm link in the Windows Explorer window.
  9. Rename the user’s .zm directory back from its new name to .zm.

    Type the following and press ↵:
    ren bak.zm .zm

  10. Start the Zoom service.
  11. Modify the Server settings to update the Working Copy path to the new one.
    • For Auto-Checkout Working Copy, change the Auto-Checkout Config > Auto-Check-Out Root Folder in the Web Admin > Server Control Panel
  12. Enable the Working Copy monitoring.
    • For Auto-Checkout Working Copy, enable Auto-Checkout Config > Enable Auto-Check-Out in the Web Admin > Server Control Panel
If there is an Access Denied error on Windows, try running the Command Prompt as Administrator.