ID: 7117

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Managing Users, Roles & Permissions in Zoom 7.0

Guide for managing users within the Zoom Administration Console

From Zoom 7.0 onwards, it is possible to give access anonymously to a limited number of assets within a Zoom repository. However, for all other purposes, if anyone wants access to a Zoom repository, they need a user account in that Zoom setup. In addition to managing users in Zoom, users can also be managed inside of LDAP or Active Directory. In this article, we talk about managing users in Zoom.

 

How permissions, roles, and users are related

A permission is set of actions allowed in Zoom. Permissions are fixed and may not be changed. A role is a permission on a project (or all projects). Each user in Zoom is mapped to a role and also to one or more projects. For a user to be able to access a project, it should be mapped to the user as well as the role assigned to that user.

Learn about managing permissions, roles, and users below. For details about managing projects including assigning projects to users, go to Managing Projects.

 

What is in the box?

Permissions and roles are preset in Zoom. You cannot add more permissions but you can add more roles as needed.

The following permissions are available:

Permission Name Description
None Has no access to any resource.
Distribute Can only read items that are marked as published
Review Can only read items that are marked as published and marked for review.
Read Has read-only access to assets. Cannot add, edit, or delete anything in Zoom.
Contribute Can add and edit files. Cannot delete files.
Edit Can add and edit files. Can also delete their own files.
Edit All Can add, edit and delete files.
Administer Can add, edit or delete files. Can also administer projects in Zoom.

 

In the Web Management Console, clickManage Accounts from under User Accounts node in the Admin Menu sidebar. This Manage Accounts page lists all users registered in your Zoom MAM Server.

Add Users

  1. OpenManage Accounts page by clicking under User Accounts node in the Admin Menu sidebar.

  2. In the Manage Accounts page, clickAdd User from the User Operations drop-down menu (alternatively, openCreate New Account page from under User Accounts node in the Admin Menu sidebar).

  3. Set the following fields for the new user account:
    Field Example
    User Name jsmith
    Last Name Smith
    First Name John
    Password <password>
    Confirm Password <password> 
    Project defproj
    Role webapprover
    Email jsmith@example.com
    Rate 0
    Image* jsmith.jpg
    Note Remark
    Concurrent Only User^
    *Image field is available from Zoom version 7.0 onwards.
    ^Concurrent Only User check box is available from Zoom version 7.0 onwards.
  4. Click Save.
  5. The new user account is created. As the next step, assign this user to a project(s) as described here.

Edit Users

  1. On theManage Accounts page (User Accounts > Manage Accounts), select a user row from the list of users.
  2. ClickEdit User from the User Operations drop-down menu to view the Edit User dialog box (alternatively, double-click on the user row to view the same).
  3. Update the values in the dialog box. The User Name, Project and Roles may not be changed.

Delete Users

  1. On theManage Accounts page (User Accounts > Manage Accounts), select one or more user rows from the list of users.
  2. ClickDelete User(s) from the User Operations drop-down menu.
  3. The selected users are deleted after confirmation.

View User Details

  1. On theManage Accounts page (User Accounts > Manage Accounts), select a user from the list of users.
  2. ClickUser Details on the User Operations drop-down menu.
  3. The selected user’s details are displayed in the User Details window.

Using a role, specific permissions can be set for a specific project. That way a user mapped to the role only has those permissions for that specific project. By default, however, roles are set to *, meaning that these permissions will apply to all projects.

Roles may be added, modified or deleted. Each role also needs a project assigned to it, otherwise, it is assigned for all projects. Finally, users are mapped to the role. In the Web Management Console, open Manage Roles from under Role Management node in the Admin Menu sidebar. This page lists all roles set in your Zoom MAM Server.

Edit Role

For a role, the project, permission or description may be edited. Click on the project, permission, or description for the role you wish to edit and enter/select the new value. Check these steps in detail below:

Set permission for a role

  1. On theManage Roles page (User Accounts > Role Management), click the Permission for the desired role. The permission will convert into a drop-down list.

  2. Select the desired permission for this role from the Permission drop-down box.
  3. ClickSave All button on the top right corner of the page.

Set project for a role

  1. On theManage Roles page (User Accounts > Role Management), click the Project for the desired role. The project will convert into a drop-down list.
  2. Select the desired project for this role from the Project drop-down box or type in * (to assign all projects to this role).
  3. ClickSave All button on the top right corner of the page.

Map Users to Role

  1. In the Web Management Console, openMap Users to Role from under Role Management node in the Admin Menu sidebar.
  2. Under Role Nameselect a role. The users mapped to this role are shown in the Selected Users list.
  3. To map one or more users, select these (Ctrl+click for multiple selections) from the All Users list. Similarly, to remove one or more users from the mapped list, select these from the Selected Users list.
  4. Click Add >> or Add All >> as needed. Similarly, click << Remove or << Remove All if needed.
  5. Click Save.

Add Role

  1. On theManage Roles page (User Accounts > Role Management), clickAdd Role. Keep in mind that if you want a role that is a subset of another role, then select that role’s row before clicking Add Role. If you click Add Role without selecting any row, then the new role is created at the root level as the other preset roles.
  2. Enter the name for the new role in the Name of the Role box.
  3. Click OK. The new role is added to the list with permission as none and mapped to all projects.
  4. Under the Project column for that role, click to change the project from the drop-down.
  5. Under the Permission column for that role, click to change the permission from the drop-down.
  6. ClickSave All.

Delete Role

  1. On theManage Roles page (User Accounts > Role Management), select the role you would like to delete.
  2. ClickDelete Role.
  3. The selected role is deleted after confirmation.