ID: 650

Locks

via Asset Browser

Locks is a feature in Zoom that allows you to restrict who is working at a file at one time. This helps communicate to users which files have been delegated to which users at a time. When a file is locked, other users in Zoom are not able to commit a new version of the file until you have released the lock on the file.

Description: Evoltech:Users:ben:Desktop:Screen Shot 2014-02-27 at 5.03.24 PM.png

When a file is locked, an indicator is shown below the asset thumbnail. When you hover over this icon with your cursor, you can see additional information regarding who has this file.

When you checkout files from Zoom, by default it will lock the file. It is important to release the lock once you have completed your work on the file.  You can also have the Asset Browser prompt you when you checkout a file to determine whether you want to lock the file or not.

Lock File During Checkout

If Ask to Lock Before Checkout is enabled, you will be prompted to lock the file during checkout. Please follow the following instructions to lock the file during checkout:

  1. Select an item in Asset Browser.
  2. Right-click on the asset and select Checkout.
  3. When asked whether you want lock this file/folder for editing, click Yes.
    Description: Evoltech:Users:ben:Desktop:Screen Shot 2014-02-27 at 5.28.24 PM.png

Lock Working Copy

If you already have a working copy on your computer, you can lock that file by doing the following:

Via Button

  1. Select an item in Asset Browser.
  2. Click the Description: Evoltech:Users:ben:Desktop:Screen Shot 2014-02-27 at 5.39.45 PM.png Get Lock button.

Via Contextual Menu

  1. Select an item in Asset Browser.
  2. Right-click on the asset and select Get Lock.
    Description: Evoltech:Users:ben:Desktop:Screen Shot 2014-02-27 at 5.35.53 PM.png

Release Lock

Via Button

  1. Select an item in Asset Browser.
  2. Click the Description: Evoltech:Users:ben:Desktop:Screen Shot 2014-02-27 at 5.34.08 PM.png Release Lock button.

Via Contextual Menu

  1. Select an item in Asset Browser.
  2. Right-click on the asset and Select Release Lock.
    Description: Evoltech:Users:ben:Desktop:Screen Shot 2014-02-27 at 5.40.28 PM.png

Configuring Locks During Checkout

It is configurable as to whether you would like to be prompted whether to be prompted when checking out a file as to whether you want to be asked to lock or not. If you disable this, files will be locked automatically.

You can configure this setting by doing the following:

  1. In the top-right corner, click the Description: Evoltech:Users:ben:Desktop:Documentation Screenshots:Screen Shot 2014-02-27 at 5.44.37 PM.png User menu and Select Settings.
  2. Check or uncheck the option Ask to Lock Before Checkout.