ID: 7117

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Managing Users, Roles & Permissions in Zoom 7.0

Guide for managing users within the Zoom Administration Console

From Zoom 7.0 onwards, it is possible to give access anonymously to a limited number of assets within a Zoom repository. However, for all other purposes if anyone wants access to a Zoom repository, they need a user account in that Zoom setup. This includes any users interested in accessing lightboxes. In addition to managing users in Zoom, users can also be managed inside of LDAP or Active Directory. In this article, we talk about managing users in Zoom.

 

How permissions, roles and users are related

A permission is set of allowances and deterrences for various tasks in Zoom. A role is a permission on a project (or all projects). Now, each user in Zoom is mapped to a role and to one or more projects. For a user to be able to access a project, it should be mapped to the user as well as the role.

Learn about managing permissions, roles and users below. For details about managing projects including assigning projects to users, go to Managing Projects.

 

What is in the box?

Permissions and roles are preset in Zoom. You cannot add more permissions but you can add more roles as needed.

The following permissions are available:

Permission Name Description
None Has no access to any resource.
Distribute Can only read items that are marked as published
Review Can only read items that are marked as published and marked for review. For example: Items in a Lightbox.
Read Has read-only access to assets. Cannot add, edit, or delete anything in Zoom.
Contribute Can add and edit files. Cannot delete files.
Edit Can add and edit files. Can also delete their own files.
Edit_All Can add, edit and delete files.
Administer Can add, edit or delete files. Can also administer projects in Zoom.

 

Add Users

  1. In the Web Management Console under User Accounts in the sidebar, clickManage accounts. Under User Operations clickAdd User (alternatively, clickCreate New Account under User Accounts in the sidebar).
  2. Set the following for the new user account:
    Field Example
    User Name jsmith
    Last Name Smith
    First Name John
    Password <password>
    Confirm Password <password> 
    Project defproj
    Role webapprover
    Email jsmith@example.com
    Rate 0
    Note Remark

Edit Users

  1. In the  Web Management Console under User Accounts in the sidebar, clickManage accounts.
  2. Select a user from the list.
  3. ClickEdit User under User Operations.
  4. Make the desired changes in Name, password, email, rate and note. User name, project and roles assigned may not be changed.

Delete Users

  1. In the  Web Management Console  under User Accounts in the sidebar, clickManage accounts.
  2. Select multiple users from the list.
  3. ClickDelete User(s).
  4. The selected users are deleted after confirmation.

View User Details

  1. In the  Web Management Console  under User Accounts in the sidebar, clickManage accounts.
  2. Select a user from the list.
  3. ClickUser Details under User Operations.
  4. The selected users are deleted after confirmation.

Roles may be added, modified or deleted. Each roles also has one or all projects set for it. Finally, users are mapped to the role. 

Set Permission for Role

  1. In the  Web Management Console  under Role Management in the sidebar, clickManage Roles.
  2. Under the Permission column for the specific role, click to view drop-down.

  3. Select the appropriate permission.
  4. ClickSave All.

Set Project for Role

Permissions can be set to a specific project. That way a user only has those permissions for that specific project. By default, however, roles are set to *, meaning that these permissions will apply to all projects.

  1. In the  Web Management Console  under Role Management in the sidebar, clickManage Roles.
  2. Under the Project column for the specific role, click to view drop-down to select the project, or type *.
  3. ClickSave All.

Map Users to Role

  1. In the  Web Management Console under Role Management in the sidebar, clickMap Users to Role.
  2. Under Role Nameselect the role you would like to map users to.
  3. Select the users you would like to add from the All Users column or the users you would like to remove from the Selected Users column.
  4. Click Add >><< RemoveAdd All >> or << Remove All as needed.
  5. Click Save.

Add Role

  1. In the  Web Management Console under Role Management in the sidebar, clickManage Roles.
  2. ClickAdd Role.
  3. Under Name of the Role, enter the name you would like to set for the name.
  4. Under the Project column for that role, click to select the project from the drop-down.
  5. Under the Permission column for that role, click to select the permission from the drop-down.
  6. ClickSave All.

Delete Role

  1. In the  Web Management Console under Role Management in the sidebar, clickManage Roles.
  2. Select the role you would like to delete.
  3. ClickDelete Role.
  4. The selected role is deleted after confirmation.